Making Friends with Enemies

 

IMG_1224As I write this post, I am surrounded by boxes. The house has been sold, and now, the most difficult part begins–moving. Today, my mind wanders from idea to idea, each thought landing for a few seconds before the next one disrupts. Where did I put those plates? What should I blog about this week? What should I do with all of these books?

You see, I struggle with focusing my mind and finishing chores since I’m wired for “people” rather than “tasks.” Just this morning, I woke up feeling overwhelmed. To help me, my husband took me by the hand into our former home office before he left for work and showed me where to sort boxes of teaching supplies and books–“these bins for trash, anything you want in these boxes, and giveaway items in another box.”

The problem isn’t just moving. Life is challenging me these days. My weaknesses crop up in so many areas of my life, like an enemy trying to take me down. I’m not sure I can pick the right paint color for the new house. Indecisive. I’m not sure that I can revise my book, again, or finish another book this year. Unfocused. I’m not sure I can face my empty nest this fall. Fearful.

I used to fight any appearance of weakness. I wanted to please everyone around me so badly. Taking on too much and working too hard created too much stress. Finally, I am resting more and asking for help when the task feels overwhelming, especially from Jesus.

Weakness is my friend these days. It was the apostle Paul’s friend, too. The Lord told him once, My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.”

I’m trying to take Paul’s advice,

“I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.”

So, if my weaknesses drive me to Jesus and show off His strength, then I welcome them like an old friend.

Bible verses are from 2 Corinthians 12:8-10, NLT & MSG.

About jaynewalters

Daily the power of stories amazes me--moves me, shapes me--an ordinary wife, mom, teacher, writer, nature-lover, Jesus-follower.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Friends with Enemies

  1. Shannon Whitted-Witt says:

    I am struggling with the same issues.. I had a difficult month, and walking in my faith and resting in Gods promises seems so easy.. Then adversity hits.. now I have to put my actions to work with turning it over …
    Long story short Jayne.. I feel like I have never been so close to my father. I have never been more clear and more in love with my Awesome Father! He really works in the midst of my confusion.. Draws me closer, gives me
    rest, and I have never felt more at Peace than right now in my Empty Nest Life!! God Bless, and keep writing!! I love reading them😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • jaynewalters says:

      Shannon, thank you SO much for your thoughts. I love hearing how Jesus is working in your life, even in the midst of confusion and adversity. I’m grateful for your kind words. You have been really encouraging to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

