Resolve to Believe God in 2016

images-2Did you make any resolutions for 2016? With two weeks into the new year, are you standing firm?

I rarely make New Year resolutions because I usually forget them or throw them aside by April. And my resolution is usually something that I should’ve been doing anyway, so why not start it in June or November? This year, however, I really wanted to tackle some goals. Having finished the final edits on my first devotional book, I determined to write two more books this year. Since I want to write several days each week, I have to manage my time more productively. So, I’m waking up one hour earlier to exercise, and then, after my family leaves for the day, I’m writing or studying and planning. With two weeks behind me, I’m still committed.

LifeWay Research, a ministry of LifeWay Christian Resources, found that “when Americans make New Year’s resolutions, a better relationship with God ranks almost as high as better health.” Many Americans will make resolutions to be kinder or pray more or go to church more.

expandingleadership-35

Instead, how about resolving to believe God for more in 2016? Believing God will cultivate a better relationship with Him. Believing God means we know that all He has said is true. Like this: I’m believing that He  ________. You fill in the blank.

images-1Here’s how I’m filling in the blank with what I’m believing: “I’m believing that He chose me and has put me in a place to be fruitful.”

I’m believing that truth based on John 15:16: “You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name He may give to you.”

I remind myself daily about what I’m believing. “Hey, don’t forget: You are chosen.”

I preach to myself. “You are chosen by God to be fruitful. Keep believing that!”

I tell others what I’m believing. “I believe that God has chosen me, so my life has purpose.”

I tell Him. “Father, I know that you chose me and have a plan to bring fruit from my life.”

And my faith grows!

The best resolution you could make this year? Believe God. What will you believe that He has done for you or had said about you? Let me know how it’s going. Let’s pursue greater faith in 2016.

 

About jaynewalters

Daily the power of stories amazes me--moves me, shapes me--an ordinary wife, mom, teacher, writer, nature-lover, Jesus-follower.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

