Mysterious

Remember Job? The guy in the Old Testament of the Holy Bible who lost his children and wealth and who suffered physically? I haven’t suffered all that Job did, but I can relate to his feelings.

“My complaint today is still a bitter one,
    and I try hard not to groan aloud.
     If only I knew where to find God….”

In the midst of Job’s suffering, he voiced the question about God that I have secretly wondered in the midst of difficulty: Where is He?

“I go east, but he is not there.
    I go west, but I cannot find him.
  I do not see him in the north, for he is hidden.
    I look to the south, but he is concealed.”

In the midst of difficulty pain envelops us. Doubts assail us. Insecurity nags us. Disappointment deflates us.  Loss empties us.  Worst of all, we feel alone.  The emotion-fueled high that we felt about God is gone. All that we know or believe about God is tested. Job’s comfort and mine in difficult times–

“But he knows where I am going.
    And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold.”

The New American Standard says, “He knows the way with me.” I like that. He knows about me. He sees me. I’m never out of His sight for a moment…or out of His thoughts.

Job 23:1-10 (NLT)

About jaynewalters

Daily the power of stories amazes me--moves me, shapes me--an ordinary wife, mom, teacher, writer, nature-lover, Jesus-follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mysterious

  1. Gary Penner says:

    “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,neither are your ways my ways,”declares the Lord. Isaiah 55:8

    Like

Leave a Reply

